• 2022 11th Congressional District Democratic Convention

    Saturday, March 5, 2022 at 10 am [VIRTUAL]

    This convention is virtual. Please join early; the program will begin promptly at 10 am.

    Full Call to Convention PDF

    Purposes of the District Convention shall be:

    1. To elect twenty Democratic State Central Committee members;
    2. To consider resolutions; and
    3. To conduct such other business as may properly come before the convention.

    Forms to:

    New Process due to Public Health Emergency. As a result of the current Covid-19 virus public health emergency, it is not possible for the Democratic Party of Virginia (DPVA) and the Eleventh Congressional District Democratic Committee (11CDDC) to implement a Convention in an in-person environment. The 11CDDC is therefore opting to hold this process virtually in a manner similar to its 2020 National Delegate Selection Convention, and is committed to implementing a fair and open process for reorganization, the selection of members, and conducting other necessary party business.

    Participating In The Convention

    Participation in the Eleventh District Democratic Convention is open to all registered voters who wish to participate as Democrats. All meetings shall be open to all members of the Democratic Party regardless of race, sex, age, color, creed, national origin, religion, ethnic or gender identity, sexual orientation, economic status, or disability, and all meetings shall be publicized fully.

    You must pre-file to participate as a delegate in this virtual convention. The deadline to file to be a delegate to this convention is Tuesday, February 15, 2022 at 5:00 pm.

    There are no fees to participate in this convention.

    Election of Members to the State Central Committee

    Method. The twenty members of the Democratic State Central Committee from the Congressional District shall be elected by Jurisdiction Caucuses via electronic ballots following the online program.

    The caucuses shall elect the following numbers of State Central Committee members:

    • Fairfax County: 19 Members (evenly divided by gender)
    • Fairfax City: 1 Member (of any gender)

    Pre-filing is required to be a candidate for membership of the Congressional District Democratic Committee/State Central Committee. The deadline to file to be a candidate is Tuesday, February 15, 2022 at 5:00 pm

    Slates. Any candidate for membership on the Congressional District Committee may sponsor and form a same jurisdiction slate and have the slate listed on the ballot. A slate must be complete (i.e., a gender balanced set of 19 candidates from Fairfax County). Individuals wishing to form a slate shall provide the slate form (to be released soon) to the CD Chair by Monday, February 21, 2022 at 5 pm. Candidates may only be on one slate.


    For a resolution to be considered by the Convention Resolutions Committee for inclusion and consideration at the District Convention, it must be received by the CD Committee Chair, Robert Haley, and the Convention Resolutions Committee Chair, Sandra J. Klassen, by Friday. February 11, 2022 at 5 pm.

    Draft resolutions must be submitted via email and include the name, address, phone number, and email of the drafter; be submitted as an attachment (in Word, Calibri size 10 font) to: haleyr@sprintmail.com and sjkintl@gmail.com.

    The report of the Convention Resolutions Committee including all resolutions which will be considered at the Convention will be available by Wednesday, February 23, 2022 at 5 pm.

    All resolutions adopted by the District Convention will be forwarded to DPVA and its Resolutions Committee after the District Convention concludes.

  • Diwali Celebration

    Join the 11th Congressional District Democratic Committee and the Democratic Asian Americans of Virginia (DAAV) for their Annual Diwali Celebration on October 23rd. Buy your tickets today at https://secure.actblue.com/donate/DIWALI2021.

  • 2021 11th Congressional District Democratic Party Candidates

    On June 8th, the 2021 Democratic Primary was completed and our new candidates were selected for the November election. The candidates and their websites are displayed below:

    Statewide Candidates:

    House of Delegates Candidates:

    District 2 – Delegate Candi King

    District 13 – Delegate Danica Roem

    District 31 – Delegate Elizabeth Guzman

    District 35 – Delegate Mark Keam

    District 36 – Delegate Kenneth Plum

    District 37 – Delegate David Bulova

    District 38 – Delegate Kaye Kory

    District 39 – Delegate Vivian Watts

    District 40 – Delegate Dan Helmer

    District 41 – Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn

    District 42 – Delegate Kathy Tran

    District 43 – Delegate Mark Sickles

    District 44 – Delegate Paul Krizek

    District 45 – Elizabeth Bennett-Parker*

    District 51 – Briana Sewell*

    District 52 – Delegate Luke Torian

    District 53 – Delegate Marcus Simon

    District 67 – Delegate Karrie Delaney

    District 86 – Irene Shin*

    The election will be held on November 2, 2021

  • 21st Annual John N. Sturdivant Virtual Awards Brunch

    The 11th Congressional District Democrats invite you to our 21st Annual John N. Sturdivant Virtual Awards Brunch

    Honoring an awardee for his/her lifetime commitment to the Labor community and Democratic ideas & values.

    With special guest
    Congressman Gerry Connolly
    and other elected officials.

    We will also present our 11th District Community Service Awards:
    Joseph V Gartlan Award (Fairfax County)
    Deloris Hampton Award (Prince William County)
    Frederick W Silverthorne Award (Fairfax City)

    Help support the 11th Congressional District Democratic Committee and their work in the community.

    Purchase a event ticket at https://secure.actblue.com/donate/sturdivant21

  • Big Victory for 11th Congressional District

    Congratulations to Congressman Gerry Connolly on winning his seventh term to the United States House of Representatives. Congressman Connolly had strong support in Fairfax County, Prince William County, and the City of Fairfax.

    The 11th Congressional District Democratic Committee would like to congratulate Senator Mark Warner, Congressman Bobby Scott, Congressman Donald McEachin, Congressman Don Beyer, Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger, Congresswoman Elaine Luria, and Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton on their reelection to the 117th Congress. In addition, the 11th CD Democratic Committee for all our candidates helping to move the Democratic Party forward in the Commonwealth this campaign season.